My Sunday-Monday Post

My Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer
Sunday Salon is hosted by Deb at Readerbuzz
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Kathryn at Book Date

The preparations for Wyatt’s birthday are in full swing! This year is another low key birthday without a big party but we are still trying to make things fun and special. We hope to go to the zoo on Saturday, and I am making his favorite, strawberry cake for Wednesday, his actual birthday. And the first of his birthday gifts has arrived! I will share more on it in a birthday post later but let me tell you, we are all enchanted.

I also picked up this “Mystery mystery bag” from the library! Our library is doing a monthly book swag bag event which is really neat! February was all about mysteries. This is what was in my book swag bag! This book sounds exactly me too. According to the blurb on Goodreads, this series is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Midsomer Murders, and all those British cozies. I can’t wait to start reading, eat my shortbread, and drink my hot chocolate! March’s bag is set to be fantasy themed, and I am looking forward to it already.

Read Last Week:

Sadly, I could not focus on reading at all last week. My thoughts were busy and when my thoughts are busy, so is my body. I did make a pretty good start on Within These Wicked Walls and I do hope to finish it in the next week or so.

Wyatt and I did read quite a bit of our read aloud though, Appleblossom the Possum. This book is super cute!

Reading This Week:

I was so excited when the new Rockton came in for me at the library! And of course, Now You See Them. Since this week is crazy (Wyatt has his 24 hour EEG in addition to his birthday this week), I may drop kiddo off at my mom’s Thursday, and give myself a little break!

Posted Last Week:

My Thoughts on How to be a Good Creature by Sy Montgomery

What’s Been Going on Around Here

Just Some Saturday Morning Thoughts

Watching/Listening:

Billy and I finished up The Loch, All Creatures Great and Small, and Around the World in 80 Days. For being a slow start for me, I was sad when 80 Days was over! We also watched the Christmas episode of All Creatures and I cried my eyeballs out at how much I loved it. The Loch was also good – I was surprised by the ending! It was such a good crime thriller, and so many secrets fell out of this little town during this murder investigation. A little grisly, but gripping.

We also watched Kim’s Convenience, which we are loving, and then on a day when Billy had to work a million hours (it’s been a rough week of work for him) I watched almost all of the newest season of Sweet Magnolias once Wyatt fell asleep.

Our wake-up songs! Space Oddity by David Bowie, Top of the World by The Carpenters, Isn’t She Lovely by Stevie Wonder, My Girl by The Temptations – and I am forgetting one!

And that is it from our little home in the Mitten. Stay safe!

28 thoughts on “My Sunday-Monday Post

  1. I hope Wyatt has a fantastic birthday. Our Wyatt is having his birthday in March and we are hoping to get to celebrate with him then.

    I like your library swag bag. I’m curious…Is that something you pay for? It’s a lovely idea.

    I hope you are able to get out of your head this week. I hate it when I get all caught up in worrisome thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Top of the World by the Carpenters! Just hearing it turns me into a dancing queen, lol.

    Enjoy all of your upcoming events, a birthday and the zoo with strawberry cake. Yum! Enjoy your relaxing day, too.

    I need to go back to the Cozy British mysteries on Amazon Prime. I love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Birthday celebrations seems like a lot of fun! Can’t wait to see your update next week.

    Ooooe I love the fun bags your library has. What a brilliant idea. I should try to think of something like this for the school library too.

    Have a wonderful week and enjoy all the celebrations!

    Elza Reads

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love mysteries and that bag looks fun! Reminds me of a bookstore in Ann Arbor that we went to a few years ago- it was mystery themed and had that image of the girl detective (Nancy Drew?) in the window. Sadly, that store is gone I think but we found a bunch of Trixie Belden’s and other good stuff.

    Glad the b- day prep is going well and it all goes awesome :):)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like you have a fun week ahead!

    The library swag bag is a lot of fun. I have not read Elly Griffiths, I probably should. Sounds like it would be right up my alley. I’m currently reading The Big Four by Agatha Christie.

    Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope Wyatt has a wonderful birthday and hope that his EEG goes well.

    I’ve read several of Elly Griffith’s mysteries, but none from this new series. Just added those shortbread cookies to my grocery list. They are so good with a cup of tea!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wyatt has good taste in birthday cakes. Strawberry is my favorite! I hope he has a wonderful birthday and your weekend plans sounds so fun. My library did genre grab bags early on in the pandemic and it was such fun! Mysteries and shortbread are the perfect combination. I’ve been craving either shortbread or scones lately. Hope you are having a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How adventurous and fun to grab a mystery book bag. I am curious to see how you made Wyatt’s strawberry cake; from a box mix? I’ve seen lots of recipes like that that use a box mix. Oh, I was looking through Goodreads’s giveaway and thought of you when I saw this title: Raccoon Gangs, Pigeons Gone Bad, and Other Animal Adventures: A Wildlife Rehabber’s Tale of Birds and Beasts
    by Trish Ann Konieczny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.