My One Word, First Book, and Resolutions Post!

It’s a brand new year, y’all!! Happy New Year!

My One Word: I always set a word and intention for the year, much like I do resolutions. This year, the word I chose was Explore – as in explore ideas, new places, the outdoors as much as I can. COVID and work will obviously put limits on where exactly we can travel still for a while, but I want to take more small road trips, see different things and places this year whenever it is possible. But beyond the physical, I want to explore new ideas as well, new ways of living, authors, habits.

First Book of the Year: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley. I am so excited! I waited to read this until the New Year like a nerd, because the book takes place at the new year.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

I can’t wait!

Photo by Tim Howell on Pexels.com

Resolutions: I’m going to keep this simple. I always make resolutions but never get down on myself for not accomplishing them. I feel it is ok to dream and try without always having success!

  • Yoga. I miss yoga so much. I need to make time in my life for it again. Before I had Wyatt I did it almost everyday and I loved how it made me feel, physically and mentally.
  • Feeding the chickadees in our neighborhood from my hand. Yep. This is a goal of mine. How cool would that be? I will feel so very Snow White.
  • Eat more whole foods, and keep buying local to support small farmers when and where I can.

And that is it! Keeping it simple. Kind of. Lol.

Traditions: Today we are watching The Big Year like we do every single New Year’s Day for the past ten years or so. This movie I think “flies” under the radar and it is just so good. Especially if you love birds. And Jack Black. And Rosamund Pike. We will take a hike through the woods, taking time to stop and listen and look around. And hopefully eat something good too.

What every you do today, I hope you have a good day!

25 thoughts on “My One Word, First Book, and Resolutions Post!

    1. I am pretty excited about that word. It is something that I have wanted to do with Wyatt for a long time, to show him different parts of our state and country. But, different medical concerns and now COVID are making it a little more difficult. I think we can figure it out though and do it all safely! I am looking forward to seeing what word you choose!

      Like

  1. Stefanie

    Happy New Year! That psychological thriller sounds intense. I like your word of the year; it is totally your jam. That movie sounds fun too; I like Jack Black; his School of Rock is one of my favorites.

    Like

      1. Stefanie

        Hi Erin. I recently have been trying to but it’s been slow progress because I got busy with my mom’s birthday dinner. I have to figure out what and how to stage for the blog header.

        Like

  2. I really enjoyed The Big Year and that’s so weird you said that about yoga because I was just telling my mom that I want to do more yoga this year. I used a couple of videos on YouTube when I did it. It helps my muscles and me to relax.

    I also want to feed birds out of my hands 😉 And then sing really high notes like Snow White.
    Yes on the Whole Foods. That’s also my goal too. My phone thinks I want to go to Whole Foods so it capitalized it but there isn’t a Whole Foods near us so I just want to eat fresher, non-processed foods.

    The book sounds really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am hoping to get started this week with yoga! I have to figure out where to add it in my day. I thought I was going to get up early today but then it was like 10 degrees and I was like nope.

      No one in earth wants to hear me sing. It’s like the anti- snow white effect probably. Lol. And lol at the whole foods thing! We have one near us but we don’t go – it’s not called whole paycheck for nothing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my gosh…chickadees are my very favorite bird. I can’t wait to hear more about this! Also–I love Lucy Foley. Better add that one to my list. And, Explore! I’ve been thinking about this word a lot recently, and I think COVID times are a great time for this word. Because when I looked back on my year that I THOUGHT was kind of a dud, it actually wasn’t. I had explored way more than I’d realized–and, I think if we pay attention, there is so darn much to explore without going anywhere, if that has to be the case. (And hopefully it won’t. But just sayin’.)
    If you’d like to join up, I host a one word check-in the last week of the month, to share what everyone’s doing with their word!
    Here’s to a great year for you + yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If I were to choose a word, explore would be perfect for me! I can’t wait to get back out in the RV and explore more parts of this country (and Canada). I also like your first book for the year. I just sent my daughter a copy of Tana French’s book “The Likeness,” which she started today. “The Hunting Party” sounds like a wonderful thriller/mystery.

    Here’s to a wonderful year of great books and new adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your choice of word and book for this year! I need to get back to yoga as well. I always feel so much better physically and mentally when I’m practicing regularly. Feeding chickadees by hand definitely sounds like Disney movie material. They are my absolute favorite birds. They just look so cheerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: My Sunday-Monday Post! – Still Life, With Cracker Crumbs..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.